Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is blastx reliable enough to annotate transcripts from RNA-seq?

Hi everybody!

I am a newbie on in silico functional annotation of transcripts assembled from reads produced by RNA-seq. My doubt is about the utilization of blastx for this purpose.

Many tools, such as blast2go and argot2, are known to use blastx as the first step in a pipeline in which the final goal is to assign gene ontology (GO) terms to transcripts. These tools use some kind of algorithm to transfer the GO terms from the blast hits to the query sequence. So far so good.

But is it ok to transfer terms from proteins found to be translated from the minus strand of a transcript? Blastx considers all 6 frames to find potential proteins and, therefore, it should not be rare to these tools assign GO terms from these minus-strand-coded proteins to the transcript of interest.

But is this procedure biologically correct? A transcript is translated from 5' to 3' by ribosomes, so I believe that it is not correct to consider proteins from minus strand. Or am I missing anything from the RNA-seq approach per se?

Best regards!

Blastx to associate GO term to transcripts

Hi everyone!

I think no one has replied me so far because I have made my question hard to understand. So, I'll try to simplify it now!

Let's suppose I have the following transcript assembled from reads generated by RNA-seq:

>transcript_A