No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Insect DNA from bat guano

Hi all,
    I'm a postdoc at the University of Tennessee. My current project is to figure out what bats are eating by sequencing insect DNA extracted from guano samples. We've already done Ion Torrent runs that look OK, now I just have to interpret the piles o data. The data are approx 220 bp reads from the CO1 gene, per the Barcode of Life approach. I can do basic Perl programming and am prepared to learn what I need (I used to code years ago) but would prefer to assemble established solutions rather than writing my own from scratch. I guess my main questions now are about the appropriate workflow to use in handling the sequences. I don't need to assemble sequences, but will need to do some kind of basic alignment. Should I try to do that in Perl, or switch to something else like Sequencher? High throughput data means that inspecting individual reads is not a viable approach, so it's got to be automated somehow. Can I run sequencher in batch mode?

In short, if you can point me to information that would get me started identifying the best components of an analysis workflow that would be awesome. Thanks!
    Jennifer

Let's hope they were eating mainly Drosophila, otherwise it sounds pretty difficult...

But, I would suggest that you start by grabbing all the insect assemblies publicly available (at NCBI, for example) and running BLAST against them, on a few thousand reads, just to get an idea of what proportion of reads you can characterize this way. For higher throughput, you can use BBSplit, which will have somewhat less sensitivity, but deposit the reads in one little pile per reference organism for further analysis.

Comment

Jennifer: Since you are looking at a specific gene perhaps you can get away with downloading a collection of CO1 sequences from NCBI for insects and building a database with it.

You can try BBMap/Blast/Blat (perhaps in that order) to map your reads.