SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compile samtools on Windows so it doesn't need Cygwin imilne Bioinformatics 3 04-05-2016 05:31 AM
why doesn't this linux command work for me? wmseq Bioinformatics 4 11-08-2013 08:28 AM
mapdamage 2.0 doesn't work with paired ends Nihil347 Introductions 0 09-12-2013 07:28 PM
BWA trim doesn’t work. CNVboy Bioinformatics 1 11-28-2011 02:57 AM
Soap2: the -w command doesn't work Yushan Hsiao Bioinformatics 0 08-10-2010 09:54 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2018, 08:46 AM   #1
esiefker
Junior Member
 
Location: US

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Default CAP3 cygwin doesn't work.

I'm trying to assemble FASTA sequences with CAP3 on Windows using Cygwin.
I have cap3.cygwin.tar from http://seq.cs.iastate.edu/cap3.html. Cygwin works fine as far as I can tell.

cap3.exe appears to do nothing. No errors, no output. This is what happens when I run the example:

Code:
[email protected] ~/edward.siefker/Documents/CAP3/example
$ ls
README  xyz  xyz.con  xyz.qual

[email protected] ~/edward.siefker/Documents/CAP3/example
$ cat README
The command for running cap3 on data set xyz

   ../cap3   xyz  >  xyz.out &

[email protected] ~/edward.siefker/Documents/CAP3/example
$ ../cap3 xyz > xyz.out &
[1] 5048

[email protected] ~/edward.siefker/Documents/CAP3/example
$
[1]+  Exit 127                ../cap3 xyz > xyz.out

[email protected] ~/edward.siefker/Documents/CAP3/example
$ cat xyz.out

[email protected] ~/edward.siefker/Documents/CAP3/example
$
Bash returns exit code 127. Google tells me this means something is "not found". But I have no leads as to what that might be. Any ideas?
esiefker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 11:10 AM   #2
pmiguel
Senior Member
 
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,287
Default

"something" being "command". That is, "command not found". Could we see the result of:

ls ../cap3

If that exists, then try:

chmod +x ../cap3

prior to rerunning your command.
--
Phillip
pmiguel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cap3, cygwin

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO