No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• intro/review recommendation

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to next-gen sequencing. Our library is a PCR product and I will have to design primers that include the adapter sequences. I"m still trying to get oriented and was wondering whether anyone has any into to sequencing reviews or literature (specifically Illumina/Solexa is what we're planning on using) and own primer design recommendations. (The Solexa website wasn' t specific enough and the Nature methods Jan 2008 primer was a good start, but I need a lot more detail to actually design the primers).

Thanks so much,

D

Originally posted by DPB View Post
    Hi everyone,
    I'm new to next-gen sequencing. Our library is a PCR product and I will have to design primers that include the adapter sequences.
    Are you sure? If your PCR primers have the adaptors, you will only get the 50 or so bases at the ends of your PCR product. And I think that'll have to include some of your primer, so you'll get even less real sequence.

Comment

definitely NOT sure. what i have (or hope to have soon) is a library of 200mers cloned into a vector. what i'm trying to get is some sort of sequencing of those 200mers. i thought i was supposed to make a PCR primer that includes the adapters to amplify my 200mer from the vector. that's apparently not the case? do i use other primers to amplify from the vector and then ligate the adapters? are the sequencing primers then something i design that's at the start of my 200mer?

Comment

Originally posted by DPB View Post