No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Generating genome with splice junctions - STAR

Hi,

I am wondering how to go about including splice junction's database when generating a genome with STAR. I am using bovine genome downloaded from UCSC (BosTau7/Btau_4.6.1)

I have successfully generated this genome as it is and run mapping jobs against it. I'm just wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction for finding a .gtf file with annotated introns in the three column format:

Chr Start End Strand +/-

I can't see one anywhere on the UCSC site, do I have to create one myself?

Any help would be much appreciated, I'm new to this!

You can find the GFF files for (BosTau7/Btau_4.6.1) at NCBI: ftp://ftp.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/genomes/Bos_taurus/GFF/

Comment

Thanks a million. I'm having a bit of trouble now with generating the genome though.

code is:

/shared/STAR_2.3.0e/STAR --runMode generateGenome --runThreadN 8 --genomeDir /data/shared/genomes/bosTau7 --genomeFastaFiles /data/shared/genomes/bosTau7/bosTau7.fa

to generate genome without spliced junctions. Not quite sure how to include the gff files but I was going to add --sjdbFileChrStartEnd alt_BosTau_4.6.1_scaffolds.gff3 to the end of the above. Please let me know if this is wrong

However, whenever I try anything now all that comes up is:

"Aug 06 13:29:03 ..... Started STAR run
      shivshiv@compute:/data/shared/genomes/bosTau7>"

Its just returning to the command line without any error message?

Comment

Check to make sure that the file from NCBI is in the 4-column format (quotes from STAR manual).

Chr \tab\ Start \tab\ End \tab\ Strand(+or-)
        According to the manual you need to specify for GFF3 files
        --sjdbGTFtagExonParentTranscript Parent
        along with:
        --sjdbOverhang <N>: the length of the "overhang" on each side of a splice junctions. Ideally it should be equal to (MateLength - 1).

Comment