No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CellRanger vs Seurat

Hi,

I am very new to single cell sequencing and I have a couple of questions, especially to people using the Seurat package?

How does CellRanger compare to Seurat? Do they complement each other or are they competitors?

Are there specific parts of the single cell pipeline that Cellranger performs better, considering it is developed by 10x itself?

Seurat and cellranger

cellranger is run on the raw data and produces data that you can read into R with Seurat for downstream analysis. It also does some processing of the data for instant visualization in the cellranger report, but we don't typically use that much further, because it's nice to have more control over which cells you filter and how you treat the data.

There is a package called Loupe from 10x that you can use to explore the cellranger-generated data, but again, a bit black box-y and less control over parameters, less clear how the data was actually treated.

Comment

Alternative Analysis Platforms

Seurat is a beautiful R package for one workflow in analyzing data generated from CellRanger (and other scRNA-Seq pipelines), built by some top tier talent at NYU.

This can be utilized via the Seurat plugin developed by FlowJo within the SeqGeq platform which runs the Seurat R package as well as many other tools (in parallel or stacked together) for very deep data analysis and without the need to code in R.

More information available here:

flowjo.com/solutions/seqgeq
      exchange.flowjo.com

Best,
      Ian Taylor
      SeqGeq Tech Support
      [email protected]

Comment