Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UnifiedGenotyper vs. Varscan vs. FreeBayes for Bacterial spp. Variant Calling

Hello all,

After trolling the forum for some time trying to find an answer to my question, I decided to reach out to the community for some additional assistance. Currently, my group is working on SNP detection in bacterial species for phylogenetic analyses. I am fairly new to the bioinformatics but am luckily working on these data within a local implementation of Galaxy.

At this point, I am trying to compare SNP calls between UnifiedGenotyper, Mpileup/Varscan, and FreeBayes, all which seem to be popular algorithms/programs. For our analysis, we are using short read paired-end illumina data (2x100) with usually 25-30 samples.

My first question is which algorithm/program is preferred for bacterial species, or are there any best practices for these analyses. Secondly, and most importantly, I am having trouble finding criteria/guidelines for SNP filtering. On the GATK site and essentially everyplace else I found, it says that this process is highly subjective. However, I need a starting place, or some criteria to base my subjective decisions on. For example, should I base the decision strictly on the QUAL value, or a number of values including the gentoype quality, read depth, or mapping quality. My ultimate goal is the reduce false positive SNP calls (which I assume would have to do with some probability) as well as SNPs in areas with low coverage.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

If you are looking for variants in a single clone, and your coverage is adequate (say, at least half a million reads per Mb of genome) it doesn't matter much what program you use, those SNPs will be so strong that any software will be able to pick them out.