SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bcftools strand bias for strand specific libraries palb Bioinformatics 0 03-04-2015 11:37 AM
Strand Bias filtering c_ro87 Ion Torrent 2 04-13-2014 03:45 AM
strand bias P-value lyz1030 Bioinformatics 1 07-16-2012 12:12 AM
strand bias zorph Bioinformatics 0 06-13-2012 02:44 PM
Evidence of Strand Bias AnamikaDarwin Bioinformatics 1 06-27-2011 04:21 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2015, 08:23 AM   #1
Ingeneious
Member
 
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
Default Strand bias in amplicon sequencing

I am seeing random strand bias in amplicon reads on an Illumina MiSeq run. Some of the amplicons have effectively complete dropout of the forward or reverse read. This occurs across every sample on the run.

I have used this library prep kit before and did not see these results before. Also, the bias occurs in regions that I would not expect this to happen (50% GC).

Has anyone seen this before or have any ideas what could be causing this? Is there anything in the library prep process that might cause this?
Ingeneious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 11:16 PM   #2
nucacidhunter
Jafar Jabbari
 
Location: Melbourne

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingeneious View Post
Is there anything in the library prep process that might cause this?
Would you give more info on library prep method, indexing, fragment size and number of sequencing cycles.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 11:30 PM   #3
Ingeneious
Member
 
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
Default

TruSeq DNA HT, 2 x 8bp, 200bp, 2 x 150 PE.
Ingeneious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2015, 12:57 AM   #4
nucacidhunter
Jafar Jabbari
 
Location: Melbourne

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,234
Default

I thought it was a PCR with target specific primers, but from your description I assume a shotgun DNA library. It is not clear to me what "Some of the amplicons have effectively complete dropout of the forward or reverse read" and how you have come to this conclusion. I wonder if it means that you did not get a read2 for some read1s.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2015, 07:36 AM   #5
Ingeneious
Member
 
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
Default

This is ligation-based amplicon sequencing, so no shotgun involved.

What could cause read2 dropout? %Q30 scores were all >90%.
Ingeneious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2015, 01:33 PM   #6
nucacidhunter
Jafar Jabbari
 
Location: Melbourne

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,234
Default

Once a cluster passes filter in R1, indexing read(s) and R2 will collect data for that cluster even if it physically is not present. There should be still sequence data for those low quality R2s and it should not be a blank sequence file.
Possible reasons:
1- Overclustering or close to the max density specially with large amplicons
2- Low diversity regions in R2
3- Issues with sequencing primers or reagents
4- Issues with instrument hardware

Time to call Illumina tech support.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 06:58 AM   #7
Ingeneious
Member
 
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks for your input, nucacidhunter.
Ingeneious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO