SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cuffdiff output - how reliable? whoopster101 RNA Sequencing 12 02-23-2014 08:15 AM
Seeking Reliable Bioinformatics Services in EU/US? puggie Service Providers 15 08-30-2013 04:03 AM
DEGseq VS edgeR, which one is more reliable? tianyub836 Bioinformatics 40 01-07-2013 10:43 PM
Galaxy: filtering for unique/reliable alignments onson001 Bioinformatics 1 10-20-2011 04:47 PM
Which tool is reliable for SVs? AlexSmith Bioinformatics 1 06-11-2010 08:23 AM

Old 05-30-2012, 07:07 AM   #1
lg36

Default Does a reliable consensus mean more reliable SNPs?

Dear All,

I'm relatively new to WGS analysis so please excuse any naivety on my part.

Before getting the WGS sequences I have confirmed the presence or absence of certain oligonucleotides in various bacterial DNA samples. So I know I should see these sequences in the final consensus sequence.

Is it true to think that if I can produce a more reliable consensus sequence then the SNP calls are also likely to be more reliable. I appreciate that there are many SNP quality filters etc that will also be applied that can lead to difference between a consensus and a SNP call, but I just wanted to get an idea of the overall correlation between the consensus and SNPs.

If there is a high correlation between the two then surely if I make sure that my consensus sequences are as reliable as possible, when I come to calling the SNPs from the same mapped reads they will be more reliable???

Apologies if I'm totally wrong about this.

Best wishes lg36
lg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 12:36 AM   #2
mbayer

Hi lg36,

you're not wrong about this at all -- this is in fact a pretty important factor in SNP discovery.