Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Optimal read lenght for RNASeq

Has anyone here done any research on optimal read length for doing RNASeq?

I've been able to find one paper so far that looked at read length (Li et al). Suggesting that shorted reads <35 are best.

I'm sure like everything it comes down to your experimental question, but I'm looking for some general advice.

Thanks,
    Last edited by cjohnson; 11-03-2010, 07:59 AM.

Hello cjohnson,

I am far from an expert on this matter, but to get the ball rolling on your thread:

In general, the longer the better and paired ends (especially) are helpful. I think the added value is greater resolution (and statistical power) of smaller genes and as well as lowly expressed genes. I'm sure cost is a concern for you, as it is for everyone (if not, then i envy you), so you may find that adding a little read length is a bit cheaper than running PE's. If you are using a core facility, however, you have to consider how much of the slide you are using (# of lanes) versus how popular a particular read length is with your type of run, PE or SE. I've heard that 40bp SE reads are the minimum you should try to do, and of course the more biological replicates the more powerful your analysis will be.

Hope this was some modicum of help.

Cheers,
    Johnathon
    Last edited by jdanderson; 11-03-2010, 04:37 PM.

Comment

I'm interested in this question as well. Haven't done RNAseq myself for a long time, and back then it was 36bp PE. Now I've read 75bp SE is pretty standard and am considering 100bp PE. Anyone have a solid answer?
      Mendelian Disorder: A blogshare of random useful information for general public consumption. [Blog]
      Breakway: A Program to Identify Structural Variations in Genomic Data [Website] [Forum Post]
      Projects: U87MG whole genome sequence [Website] [Paper]

Comment