Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• small part of all 1000 sequences from 1000genomes data needed?

Hi,

I am a newbie to next-gen data (just working from past couple of days). I am working on 1000genomes data for my thesis work.
    I need to extract all 1000 individual genome sequences at particular position
    EX: chr 8 + 125975261-125977441

I don't have computing any resources to download all 1000 genome sequence read and align data ( which is > 200TB) from ftp site.
    Is there any way that I could extract only a particular part of all 1000 genome sequences without downloading them?

Appreciate your help,

Thanks in advance,
    Culmen.

One way might be to use Amazon EC2 to do this. You would create an Amazon EC2 instance, for example with a Ubuntu image, and then access the 1000 genomes data which is apparently available through S3.

See also this thread

Discussion of next-gen sequencing related bioinformatics: resources, algorithms, open source efforts, etc

There might be other, easier ways of doing it .. but this is one method of avoiding downloading the data locally.

Comment

samtools can access the 1000 genomes BAM files on their websites; it will download the index file for each alignment you access but not the entire alignment.

There are various wrappers for samtools & I don't know if this will work in them. It definitely works at the command line & in the current version of pysam (Python binding) with a few small mods.

Comment

Thanks a lot nickloman and Robison for your help.

samtools can access the 1000 genomes BAM files on their websites; it will download the index file for each alignment you access but not the entire alignment.
        --krobison