Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to calculate conversion rate of a bisulfite sequencing experiment from lambdaDNA?

Hi all
    I am new to bisulfite sequencing analysis. Could anyone tell me how to calculate the conversion rate of a bisulfite experiment (lambda DNA has added in the genomic DNA).
    It is a WGBS data. I have the sequence data.

Is it by aligning to the reference lambda genome? Can anyone help me in this?

Thanks in advance..

Originally posted by prem View Post
    Hi all
    I am new to bisulfite sequencing analysis. Could anyone tell me how to calculate the conversion rate of a bisulfite experiment (lambda DNA has added in the genomic DNA).
    It is a WGBS data. I have the sequence data.

Is it by aligning to the reference lambda genome? Can anyone help me in this?

Thanks in advance..
    Is it normal to use phage DNA to calibrate bisulfite sequencing? Seems hazardous to me. E. coli will methylate some cytosine residues. Packaging will interfere with this process. So you generally see a variable amount of cytosine methylation in phage DNA.
    You would want to use phage lambda DNA from an E. coli host that had all its C-methylation pathways knocked out.
    --
    Phillip

Comment

Hi Philip

I am new to this and not aware of the situation you have mentioned. Can you please explain?

Comment

Hi Philip

I am new to this and not aware of the situation you have mentioned. Can you please explain?
        E. coli normally methylates its DNA. Look up "dcm methylation" for more information. phage lambda causes E. coli to produce numerous copies of itself during the lytic phase -- this is the basis of generating phage lambda DNA. Presumably because this process is rapid and the DNA is being packaged into new lambda particles, not all the sites susceptible to methylation will actually be methylated.