No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chip-seq: Comment on shearing

Hello,

I'm new to immunoprecipitation and DNA shearing. I would really appreciate any comment on the shearing I obtained on two samples I'm preparing (please see attached pdf for gel picture and other details). The downstream application will be Chip-seq sequencing by Illumina sequencer.

Some questions I have:

- Is the size of the smear acceptable for Chipseq?

- Having loaded up to 2 ug, the smear is quite weak. I think a lot of DNA has been shattered in small pieces that ran out of the gel. Is this worrying?

- On the Nanodrop, the two samples have nearly identical concentration (c.ca 360 ng/ul) and have been processed together. Still the smears look quite different on gel. Is this worrying?

Many thanks!

Dario
    Attached Files

Many substances are optically active at 260 nm. Also UV spectrophotometry is essentially blind to the difference between double-stranded DNA and all other DNA/RNA nucleotides and oligo/polynucleotides.

For this reason, a UV spec reading, such as that given you by your nanodrop, may not be measuring what you want it to measure. In the case of a genomic DNA prep, for instance, it rarely is.

You might want to run an aliquot of your sample prior to shearing on an agarose gel to determine the concentration of what you care about.

--
    Phillip

Comment

Thanks Phillip for taking care to reply.

Originally posted by pmiguel View Post
      Many substances are optically active at 260 nm. Also UV spectrophotometry is essentially blind to the difference between double-stranded DNA and all other DNA/RNA nucleotides and oligo/polynucleotides.

For this reason, a UV spec reading, such as that given you by your nanodrop, may not be measuring what you want it to measure. In the case of a genomic DNA prep, for instance, it rarely is.