• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [NGS - analysis of gene expression data] Machine Learning + RNAseq data

Hello,

i'm a portuguese student girl of master degree in bioinformatics

Do you advise me some good websites/articles for theese topics:
    --‐ Next generation sequencing for gene expression measurement (RNA‐seq)
    --‐ data analysis challenges in RNA--‐Seq data
    --‐ applications of machine learning in classification of RNAseq data
    --‐ identification and critical analysis available tools

I wanted to focus more in "applications of machine learning in
    classification of RNAseq data" do you know some pratical case that i could
    present to my classmates?

Thanks a lot,

Inês Martins
    University of Minho, Portugal

Hi Inês,

Here is a recent review about RNA-seq challenges in bioinformatics:
    http://www.nature.com/nmeth/journal/...d=NMETH-201106

However, no real "machine learning" method comes to my mind about RNA-seq.. I do not recall Cufflinks or Scripture are trained on some learning dataset. Are they?

Comment

Storey paper

There are excellent references in this paper:

John Storey

H. Craig Mak
      Nature Biotechnology 29, 331–333 (2011) doi:10.1038/nbt.1831
      Published online 08 April 2011
      John Storey provides his take on the importance of new statistical methods for high-throughput sequencing.

Good luck!

Comment

By "machine learning", do you mean clustering and classification? To my k nowledge, not much has been done there yet so far. This is because, typically, you want to have large data sets with tens, better hundreds, of samples, to bring ML techniques to fruitful use and then, microarrays are still preferred as they are still cheaper. So, have a look at what people have done for microarray studies. I'm sure people will pretty soon start thinking about how to adapt these methods to RNA-Seq, so stay tuned.

Comment

thank you all guys

Comment