SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lastz help Esther Bioinformatics 23 08-24-2015 02:16 PM
TopHat installation vinay052003 Bioinformatics 5 11-22-2011 01:54 PM
Bowtie installation kasutubh Bioinformatics 3 09-26-2011 05:48 PM
samtools installation rdu Bioinformatics 4 08-27-2010 12:18 PM
Orthomcl Installation Canadian_philosophy Bioinformatics 0 07-29-2010 08:36 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2012, 11:02 AM   #1
as1438
Junior Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Default LASTZ installation

Hey,

I am trying to install LASTZ version 1.03.02 on my 64-bit Linux desktop. I have extracted the files in appropriate directory, edited the make‑include.mak file to specify a particular directory and included this directory in my $PATH. Now when i cd into the /src folder and run make, i get this error --

cd src && make lastz lastz_D
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/local/bin/lastz/src'
gcc -c -O3 -Wall -Wextra -Werror -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64
-D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -DVERSION_MAJOR="\"1"\" -DVERSION_MINOR="\"03"\"
-DVERSION_SUBMINOR="\"02"\" -DREVISION_DATE="\"20110719"\"
-DSUBVERSION_REV="\"1567:1570"\" -Dscore_type=\'I\' lastz.c -o lastz.o
lastz.c: In function ‘main’:
lastz.c:507:9: error: variable ‘freeTargetRev’ set but not used
[-Werror=unused-but-set-variable]
lastz.c: In function ‘start_one_strand’:
lastz.c:2197:9: error: variable ‘base****’ set but not used
[-Werror=unused-but-set-variable]
lastz.c: In function ‘parse_options’:
lastz.c:6473:9: error: variable ‘seq1Filename’ set but not used
[-Werror=unused-but-set-variable]
cc1: all warnings being treated as errors

make[1]: *** [lastz.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/local/bin/lastz/src'
make: *** [build_lastz] Error 2

Can anyone help me figure out why i am getting this error and how to fix it?

Thanks a lot.
as1438 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 05:06 AM   #2
scami
Member
 
Location: italy

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 55
Default may be....

Hi there,

today I experienced the same your problem. I sorted it out in the following way:

1) Open the Makefile file within the src directory with a text editor
2) Delete the word -Werror at the line 31 . Save and quit
3) Repeat the make / make install procedure

I obtained the executables files in the bin folder

hope it helps.....

regards
scami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:01 PM   #3
DFJ111
Member
 
Location: Auckland

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 20
Default

^^ This worked for me. Thanks!
DFJ111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 02:26 PM   #4
yekaixiong
Junior Member
 
Location: Ithaca, NY

Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Default

This worked for me too! But I am just curious why "-Werror" would cause the problem.
yekaixiong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 06:11 AM   #5
Bob-Harris
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yekaixiong View Post
This worked for me too! But I am just curious why "-Werror" would cause the problem.
Sorry for this very late reply. I haven't been on seqanswers until today.

Werror tells the compiler to treat all warnings as errors. Turning this off is the easiest solution, but then you are left to scratch your head wondering whether the reported warning is benign or not. In this case it is.

I enabled Werror in the distribution because my intent is lastz should build without any warnings. The problem arises when newer versions of the compiler get better at detecting suspicious coding practices. In the cases reported at the start of this thread, the suspicious code is some variables that had been used during debugging which I neglected to remove. I believe I removed them in a later version; I will check.

There is a paragraph in the readme about this (but it probably wasn't in the 1.03.02 readme):
http://www.bx.psu.edu/~rsharris/last...4.html#install

1.03.02 is a couple years old. The latest version is 1.03.54 which can be found at the bottom of this page:
http://www.bx.psu.edu/~rsharris/lastz/newer

Bob H
(lastz author)
Bob-Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 06:18 AM   #6
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,079
Default

@Bob H: Good to have you on the list.

Is it possible to change the wording on the main page for LASTZ (http://www.bx.psu.edu/~rsharris/lastz/) for the Newer versions. The "not officially released" part probably keeps people from trying the latest version of the software.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 06:35 AM   #7
Bob-Harris
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
The "not officially released" part probably keeps people from trying the latest version of the software.
Agreed.

The problem has been that the text of the readme file has lagged the new features added over the past 4 years. As features have been added, they've been added to the readme, but I haven't had the time to review the rest of the document to make sure everything it says is correct (with regard to newer features). I think most of the issue would be things the readme says the program can't do, but which it now can.

Bob H
Bob-Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 05:41 AM   #8
madhubioinfo
Junior Member
 
Location: kolkata

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Default

i have installed the lastz-distrib-1.02.00 version and as said in the manual i did make , make install then i tried make test there also i dint get any output without any error it returned but when i try to run my sequences on it shows the following error lastz-distrib-1.02.00/bin/lastz: No match i went and checked my bin directory lastz file is there still am confused why such an error?
madhubioinfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 05:52 AM   #9
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhubioinfo View Post
i have installed the lastz-distrib-1.02.00 version and as said in the manual i did make , make install then i tried make test there also i dint get any output without any error it returned but when i try to run my sequences on it shows the following error lastz-distrib-1.02.00/bin/lastz: No match i went and checked my bin directory lastz file is there still am confused why such an error?
If lastz is in "bin" then you may need to add execute permissions to the file. You can do it as follows (if you are in the directory with lastz file):

Code:
$ chmod u+x lastz
This command should print help for lastz if the compilation was proper.

Code:
$ ./lastz
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 05:56 AM   #10
madhubioinfo
Junior Member
 
Location: kolkata

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Default

i have given the permisions to the executable lastz file also if i type ./lastz showing the help i tried this also, still the same error is displaying
madhubioinfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 06:18 AM   #11
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,079
Default

Can you provide the full command line you are using (you can remove specific file paths/server names)?
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 06:49 AM   #12
madhubioinfo
Junior Member
 
Location: kolkata

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 7
Default

lastz-distrib-1.02.00/test_data/fake_apple.fa [multiple] /lastz-distrib-1.02.00/test_data/fake_orange_reads.fa --format=sam --output=test.sam
madhubioinfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 07:29 AM   #13
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhubioinfo View Post
lastz-distrib-1.02.00/test_data/fake_apple.fa [multiple] /lastz-distrib-1.02.00/test_data/fake_orange_reads.fa --format=sam --output=test.sam
I am not sure what [multiple] refers to in the command line above but the following works for me:

Code:
$ lastz /path_to/lastz-distrib-1.02.00/test_data/fake_apple.fa /path_to/lastz-distrib-1.02.00/test_data/fake_orange_reads.fa --format=sam --output=test.sam
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 07:41 AM   #14
Bob-Harris
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhubioinfo View Post
it shows the following error lastz-distrib-1.02.00/bin/lastz: No match
Sorry for not replying sooner. I've been out of town and I did not have my account info for seqanswers.

The "no match" report is not from lastz (that text doesn't appear anywhere in the program). It is something the shell is reporting. I had a similar report a couple years ago but unfortunately I forget exactly what the cause was. Does your PATH environment variable contain the directory the lastz executable is in?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madhubioinfo View Post
lastz-distrib-1.02.00/test_data/fake_apple.fa [multiple] /lastz-distrib-1.02.00/test_data/fake_orange_reads.fa --format=sam --output=test.sam
One problem in this command line is the blank space before [multiple]. This needs to be attached to the file name, without spaces. But I don't think that's what is causing the what you are reporting (lastz will report this differently).
Bob-Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 08:28 AM   #15
Bob-Harris
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob-Harris View Post
The "no match" report is not from lastz (that text doesn't appear anywhere in the program). It is something the shell is reporting. I had a similar report a couple years ago but unfortunately I forget exactly what the cause was.
I have found the prior report of this, from 2011. I was never able to determine the cause. We came up with a workaround which I will describe below.

First, though, can you run the following commands and tell me what the responses are?

which lastz
ls -al `which lastz`

The first of those commands should tell you whether your shell is trying to run the same lastz that you think it is.

The second command will tell you whether there might be something wrong with the file. For example if its size is zero. On my machine the lastz executable's file size is about 500K.

Do you know what shell you are using? I've only used bash.

The workaround that the previous user ended up using was to put his command in a text file, set the text file as an executable, and run that. Not ideal, and I don't have a clue why that way would work but not from the command line (maybe different shells?). It's out of my area of expertise.
Bob-Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO