Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with FastQ/CASAVA format problems

Hey all, a newbie here, and not sure if this is the appropriate place to post this but was wondering if I could get some help with an issue involving Illumina deepseq data. I'm trying to run a batch of deepseq data that we have recently got through CASAVA v 1.7 and align it to a genome. The file is formated in .fastq and the reads look like this:

@6:1:1410:944:N
    NNNNCAAACACAAAGTTACCTAAACTATAGAAGTCAAACA
    +
    ####&&()''@@@@@@8@@@31888@@@@@3885817775

However, when I try to run it through the program, it gives the following error:

Could not identify index of the following line:
    6:1:1410:944:N

Please check your files, we expect the following syntax:
    <machine-id>_<run-number>(flow_cell-id):lane:tile:x:y#<index>:<pair>
    machine-id: all characters except '_'

I realize this is a formating issue as CASAVA wants the file in the format of:

@<machine_id>:<lane>:<tile>:<x_coord>:<y_coord>#<index
    >/<read_#>

But am unsure how to go about fixing it. I'm pretty sure the machine_id is missing, as well as any information dealing with the index and read. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

You could make a small script to chug through the file and add the machine id field (either the real one if you can acquire it, or else a made-up placeholder).

Regarding the "#<index>:<pair>" fields, some more info on the experiment might be needed. Is this single-end or paired-end (and how many data files are there? Illumina paired-end data usually comes in paired files with each read pair positioned on corresponding lines in the files). Any multiplexing?

Comment

It is not paired ends, and I'm almost certain there is no multiplexing at all in the sample. A sample input would be great help. Thanks for the assistance!
      Last edited by Airwalker810; 01-12-2011, 06:57 AM.

Comment