SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help to use Blast2go islandemiaj Bioinformatics 5 09-23-2015 07:38 AM
Blast2go input files Bioinformaticsnewb Bioinformatics 4 02-25-2013 04:27 PM
Blast2go result to WEGO letusgo Bioinformatics 8 01-07-2013 07:46 PM
Using Blast2go on a Mac abrown1 Bioinformatics 0 05-25-2012 12:32 PM
Need ideas about the advantages of Blast2Go byou678 Bioinformatics 5 08-27-2011 10:47 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2014, 05:38 PM   #1
SDPA_Pet
Senior Member
 
Location: US

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 222
Default BLAST2GO using questions

Hi, I just started to use blast2go. I have some questions.

1> When I start the java program, I suppose I should keep my computer connecting to internet until the analysis finishes. Right?

2>Unfortunately, I have a large data set and it will run for several days, but my school internet is not stable these days. If it disconnects in the middle of analysis, will some sequences fail to mapping or annotations, etc.

3> Can I keep saving blast2go data files, if the internet is not stable Will this help?

4> I am using windows7. My computer has 16GB RAM, but I can only start 1G java program? Does anyone know how to fix it?

Thank you.
SDPA_Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:52 PM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDPA_Pet View Post
Hi, I just started to use blast2go. I have some questions.

4> I am using windows7. My computer has 16GB RAM, but I can only start 1G java program? Does anyone know how to fix it?

Thank you.
If you are using the webstart option then the click-able link on this page allows you to set amount of memory to use: http://www.blast2go.com/start-blast2go

If you are using the command line you can probably adjust the amount by changing the highlighted number

Code:
$ javaws http://blast2go.com/webstart/blast2go1000.jnlp
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 05:03 PM   #3
SDPA_Pet
Senior Member
 
Location: US

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 222
Default

I used the webstart option. The point is the the program didn't launch, even I choose the large RAM (e.g., 10G). The maximum ram I can start the program is 1.2G.
SDPA_Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 05:12 PM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,978
Default

Do you have 64-bit java installed (in addition to the 32-bit)? If not, you would want to install that first.

Then open a terminal window (PC/Mac/Unix) and then type the command I indicated below. javaws should be in your $PATH. If it is not then you can provide the full path to it.

Try this to allocate ~4GB RAM
Code:
$ javaws http://blast2go.com/webstart/blast2go4000.jnlp
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 05:46 PM   #5
SDPA_Pet
Senior Member
 
Location: US

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 222
Default

I have 64 bit java. I tried the command line, but it didn't work.
SDPA_Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 05:56 PM   #6
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,978
Default

Were you specifically running javaws in the 64-bit java/bin directory? Just checking because many systems may run the 32-bit version by default if you just used the command line I included before.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 06:01 PM   #7
SDPA_Pet
Senior Member
 
Location: US

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 222
Default

Yes. I ran it in the 64bit folder.
SDPA_Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 06:04 PM   #8
SDPA_Pet
Senior Member
 
Location: US

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 222
Default

I just tried 10GB memory and the program started. I don't why. I don't know it is a bug or not? It shouldn't be like this. Randomly starts.
SDPA_Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO