SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maximum number of cycles from 300-cycle MiSeq kit... ECO Illumina/Solexa 13 11-09-2012 04:51 AM
what is the default maximum number of gap opens for bwa liuxq Bioinformatics 0 07-30-2012 08:50 PM
CuffDiff maximum number of sam/bam files Mtakai Bioinformatics 2 03-30-2012 05:54 PM
Allowed maximum number of differences in BWA Tefina Bioinformatics 4 05-17-2011 05:46 AM
maximum number of the reference input files for bowtie-build joseph Bioinformatics 2 09-04-2010 02:09 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2012, 02:18 PM   #1
will.jackson
Junior Member
 
Location: Australia

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Default Is there a maximum number of reads able to be loaded into tophat

Hi everyone,
I am currently mapping some RNAseq reads back to a reference genome I have generated. I did a test run the other day with half of my data (three biological replicates of one cell type) and 60,053,663 of the left reads were kept (2518 discarded) and 36,130,330 of the right reads were kept (20,491 discarded). When I started the run yesterday with my full set of samples (2 different cell types with 3 biological replicates each) I found that the same amount of reads were kept and discarded as when I was only using half my data set. Does anyone know why this is happening?

Here is how I submitted the job:

tophat -r 146 --mate-std-dev 23 -I 5000 --coverage-search /home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/ref/cell_79_St /home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample1_RNAseq/DG_H1_ACTTGA_L001_R1_001_T_Q.fastq,/home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample1_RNAseq/DG_H1_ACTTGA_L001_R2_001_T_Q.fastq /home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample1_RNAseq/DG_H2_GATCAG_L001_R1_001_T_Q.fastq,/home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample1_RNAseq/DG_H2_GATCAG_L001_R2_001_T_Qf.fastq /home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample1_RNAseq/DG_H17412_TGACCA_L001_R1_001_T_Q.fastq,/home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample1_RNAseq/DG_H17412_TGACCA_L001_R2_001_T_Q.fastq /home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample2_RNAseq/DG_S12412_ATCACG_L001_R1_001_T_Q.fastq,/home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample2_RNAseq/DG_S12412_ATCACG_L001_R2_001_T_Q.fastq /home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample2_RNAseq/DG_S18112_CGATGT_L001_R1_001_T_Q.fastq,/home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample2_RNAseq/DG_S18112_CGATGT_L001_R2_001_T_Q.fastq /home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample2_RNAseq/DG_S22312_TTAGGC_L001_R1_001_T_Q.fastq,/home/willj/02_291012_bwt2/sample2_RNAseq/DG_S22312_TTAGGC_L001_R2_001_T_Q.fastq

Thanks very much
will.jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 04:12 PM   #2
will.jackson
Junior Member
 
Location: Australia

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Default Silly error

Hi,
After thinking about my how I loaded up the sequences over the weekend, I realised I had made a really silly mistake and loaded the reads in pairs and not comma delimited left reads then comma delimited right reads. Such a n00b. Sorry for wasting everyone's time.

Cheers,
Will
will.jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO