SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bismark - A New Tool for Mapping and Analysis of Bisulfite-Seq Data fkrueger Bioinformatics 649 10-05-2018 02:43 AM
Bismark Bisulfite Aligner - Now supporting CpG, CHG and CHH context fkrueger Bioinformatics 27 10-11-2013 06:40 AM
Confused about the strand FLAG of Bismark paired-end seq results Jerry_Zhao Bioinformatics 2 09-14-2012 11:45 AM
Bismark v0.6.beta1: Now supporting gapped Bisulfite-Seq alignments fkrueger Bioinformatics 6 03-19-2012 06:06 AM
Apparent duplication levels incongruence between bismark and fastqc with BS-Seq data gcarbajosa Bioinformatics 2 12-13-2011 09:43 AM

Old 07-11-2013, 10:54 AM   #1
sero

Default Questions about Bismark and bisulfite-seq

Hello everyone,

I am new to bis-seq data analysis and really feel confused about the 'directional' mapping.

In my paired-end sequencing data, I noticed there were very few 'C's in the first read file while very few 'G's in the second. (about 2%)

Is this the 'directional libraries'? When Bismark maps the reads, will it (or Bowtie) first turn the reads in the second read file into reverse complements?

I think in my data, there are only 'C' to 'T' in the first read file and 'G' to 'A' in the second, but I am not sure how to use this information in Bismark.

Thank you.
sero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 12:27 PM   #2
fkrueger

Hi Sero,

By the sounds of it you do indeed have directional libraries. Bismark will C-to-T convert read 1 and G-to-A convert read 2 before starting the alignments. So you don't need to worry about anything, it should all be taken care of.

If you are just beginning to understand BS-Seq may I suggest you read the following protocol.
fkrueger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 12:46 PM   #3
sero

Thank you for your reply and the link!

I just felt unsure whether I was doing the right thing ...