No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Capture and 454

Hello all!

I am very new to capture arrays and 454 sequencing and also this forum. I have been using roche gsMapper and gsAssembler to map sequence reads (after a capture array) to a reference genome and also to create de-novo contigs. I know there is a particular region that is deleted, but how on earth does one go about finding this region using the roche software or bioinformatically? I am totally lost!

Thankyou to anyone who can point me in the right direction

Layla

basic approach

We are working on this problem as well, our basic approach is to pull genomic sequence based on the nimblegen bed file (basically what probes/regions they expect to hybridize to) and construct an artificial chromosome based on nimblegen's probes plus a little bit of padding around the ends we then use gsMapper to align and then query the AlignmentInfo.tsv to find the depth and gaps (just grep > to find all the gaps) the trick is finding which gaps are due to lack of coverage and which ones are due to deletions. If you have enough overall coverage the deletion gaps seem to have many reads that end and start at the same location. We also have made a correlation file to correlate the actual place in the genome vs the bp of the artifical chromosome to then make a bed or wiggle file to display in UCSC to assess if it is something to look at in detail. Anyway just some ideas for you.

Comment

what coverage would you feel is 'enough'. With the long 454 reads, I guess it can be pretty low, still reliable!
      --
      bioinfosm

Comment

nimblegen says 15X you though you could probably go as low as 7X for homozygous snps

Comment