Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tophat2 Bowtie2 Htseq-count for bacteria

Hey this is my first try to analyse a rna-seq project. Since the company we worked with is not able to give me a usefull annotated differential expression table...

I just want to know for sure, if its half-way right what I do.

My samples: 2 conditions, 2 replicats from each condition, 50bp single-end, not strand-specific. I got 23m-50m reads per library.

I want to know differential expressed genes between conditions.

I first wanted to use bowtie2 for alignment and that worked pretty well until I noticed that no NH tag for htseqcount is written.

So I switched to tophat and there it got complicated:

In default tophat2 finds lesser alignments than bowtie2. Why? As I understand tophat2 uses bowtie2 for aligment.

As I dont want to find novel junctions, as there is no splicing my bacterium, the final command I used after several attempts is:

tophat2 -G file.gtf --no-novel-juncs --no-coverage-search --library-typ fr-unstranded index file.fastq

With every attempt (first: --no-coverage-search; second: added -G; third: added --no-novel juncs) the count of aligned reads dropped a little bit. Why it droppend between this 3 modes?

With the last mode I got an alignment rate of 65-75%.

I finally got my count tables with
    samtools view file.bam | htseq-count -t gene -s no - file.gtf > counts.txt

Now I will use deseq for differential expression.

Everything ok so far?

I just went through the same process as what you did
    see my post here http://crazyhottommy.blogspot.com/20...-sort-and.html

I am following the protocol from Simon Anders http://www.nature.com/nprot/journal/....2013.099.html
    Count-based differential expression analysis of RNA sequencing data using R and Bioconductor

Originally posted by chickenmcfu View Post