SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fastq-dump errors jpmatteson Bioinformatics 1 04-01-2016 05:51 AM
SRA to fastq conversion with fastq-dump loses sequences pcantalupo Bioinformatics 13 10-08-2015 04:09 PM
fastq-dump transforu Bioinformatics 5 12-11-2014 09:22 AM
Convert SRA to FASTQ with fastq-dump but problem of read length MurielGB Illumina/Solexa 9 10-07-2014 09:10 AM
fastq-dump for Illumina duygu Bioinformatics 3 08-03-2011 02:00 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2019, 11:24 AM   #1
NDUFB11
Member
 
Location: Italy

Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 27
Default download with fastq-dump

Hello everyone, I'm still new to RNAseq and I hope I can find someone to help me out with my question.

I want to download RNAseq data (SRR) using SRA Toolkit which I already installed have on my macbook.

this is the link from where I want to download the data
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sra/?term=SRR359063


I created a folder named processing and a subfolder named raw to where I want to put this data files.
The command line is this one

Patrizios-MBP:raw patrizio$ fastq-dump --outdir raw/ --split-3 --gzip SRR359063

why do I get this?

-bash: fastq-dump: command not found

what is missing?

thank you
NDUFB11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 11:45 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,888
Default

The directory you have the program "fastq-dump" is likely not in your $PATH ( a set of directories that are automatically searched when you try to run something). You could try ./fastq-dump if the executable is in the directory where you are running this from.

I suggest you save yourself the hassle and download fastq files directly from EBI-ENA here.

You may want to learn unix basics by using this tutorial, if you are not familiar with command line.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 12:12 PM   #3
NDUFB11
Member
 
Location: Italy

Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 27
Default

The suggestion turned out very useful and I'm downloading the files.
I'm doing a course this days I wanted to practice and understand better by repeating what we did on my machine so it might be that the executable is not in my path?
hope the informations below can tell that

Patrizios-MBP:sratoolkit.2.9.4-mac64 patrizio$ ls
CHANGES README-blastn README-vdb-config README.md bin example schema
Patrizios-MBP:sratoolkit.2.9.4-mac64 patrizio$ ./fastq-dump
-bash: ./fastq-dump: No such file or directory

thank you
NDUFB11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 03:29 PM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,888
Default

Correct. That executable is likely in the "bin" directory that you see above. So you could have run it by saying
Code:
$ bin/fastq-dump --outdir raw/ --split-3 --gzip SRR359063
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 09:13 PM   #5
NDUFB11
Member
 
Location: Italy

Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 27
Thumbs up

It worked

thank you!!
NDUFB11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO