Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone performed 454 sequencing on Amoeba?

Hi,

I had met an investigator, whom would like me to propose sequencing on amoeba. I am quite new with such research project, and would like to ask your expertise advise regarding on how to perform sequencing for amoeba.

1. The investigator had some isolates, and would like to perform NGS to find out if those isolates are identical or similar to reference genome?

2. The investigator would like to know, if their objective is to run metagenomic for amoeba diversity and population is certain niche area, how can it be done?

I sincerely appreciate everyone's help and suggestion.
    I desperately needed some information as I really have no idea of how to start this.

Thanks in advance.

I'd probably go for amplicon sequencing. First things first, you should really do some literature research. It might also be worth considering if your expertise is up to the job..
    Last edited by rhinoceros; 10-01-2013, 03:23 AM.
    savetherhino.org

Comment

There are a few choices. Some amoebas have huge genomes (700 Gbases!) while others are small. Very large genomes (>10 Gb) will rule out all but amplicon sequencing. For moderate genomes, some kind of "less than whole genome" approach would make sense.

Genotyping by sequencing was invented for this purpose, to sample 10-100k loci across a genome in a reliable way. It is a bit of an acronym soup, with RAD-Seq (from my academic lab), GbS, ddRAD, REST-Seq and nextRAD (commercial bias warning! from SNPsaurus). For these approaches, each isolate would have >10k tags sequenced to a moderate depth, and the genetic variation between samples and to the reference identified. Pools of samples can also be sequenced and the allele frequencies measured as a metric of population diversity.