Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EdgeR_normalization question

I have two samples with very different composition: one sample contains many genes expressed at very high levels, which are not present in the other sample.

I tried the TMM method (EdgeR_TMM). The scaling factor is around 5. I am very new at this, so I am not sure whether it is still valid in this range. Helps are greatly appreciated!

Dear Xiansan

I think the answer of whether this is "valid" depends on your subsequent question. What is the aim of the experiment?

Best wishes
    Wolfgang
    Wolfgang Huber
    EMBL

Comment

Dear Wolfgang,

Thanks so much for your help. Our data set is a time series, the aim is to detect distinct expression profiles that may correlate with distinct developmental processes.

Our first 5 samples have similar transcriptom composition (scaling factor = 1 to 2). The last 3 samples have different composition due to the activation of a storage program. TMM normalization indicated that reads in sample 8 should be multiplied by 5 (SF=5 between sample 1 and 8). I am more of a biologist, so I don't feel very comfortable deciding whether to use TMM to normalize samples with dramatically different compositions.

Thanks very much!

xiansan

Comment

Dear Xiansan

thanks. My approach here would be to find control genes, for which you know from other sources that they are not changing between the first 5 and the latter 3 samples; or, for which know by how much they are changing. And then determine the size factors based on these.

On a more philosophical note, in my experience the usefulness of differential expression analysis tends to be inversely related to the number of genes that are truly differentially expressed.

Best wishes
        Wolfgang
        Wolfgang Huber
        EMBL

Comment

Dear Wolfgang,