Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quality testing of ChIP-seq library prior to sequencing.

Hi all,

I'm new in the ChIP-seq world. I have a good antibody that I know works well in ChIP and I also know some good target regions that I can use to validate the ChIP. After performing and validating a ChIP I used the ChIP'd material to construct a library to use for Solexa sequencing. To test if the library construction went fine I tried to perform qPCR validation using the same primer pair as before assuming that there would be less signal in the IgG control than in the one using the specific antibody. However, the results looked really strange - no signal at all in both samples. Does anybody have a good method to test the quality of the library prior to sequencing?

Da Bric

Hello,
    I'm having a similar experience. Did you figure out what was going on?

Thanks,
    Scott

Comment

You could try a few serial dilutions of your library as too much DNA can inhibit qPCR

Comment

In my case at least, I've measured the libraries with pico Green and diluted them to a concentration at which I've shown the qPCR primers work well.

(think I should start my own thread; I don't mean to hijack this one)

Comment

What is the library insert size and size of your PCR? You need a short amplicon that is centered around the binding site to amplify it from the library since you exclude the longer fragments from the sample in the library prep.

Comment

We've size selected around 175bp (bioanalyzer peak spans 125-225), and our amplicons are <=100bp. I believe that after subtracting for the adapters our library fragments are large enough to support the qPCR amplicons. Maybe though we're on the cusp of the amplicons being too large and there's fewer of those long molecules available for PCR? I'll have to look into this and get back to you.
            Last edited by ssmemo; 05-21-2010, 06:51 AM. Reason: Correction

Comment