SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > De novo discovery



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
big dye temperature? seqgirl123 General 4 05-09-2013 02:03 AM
[Velvet,assembly] core dumped occured by runnning velvet matador3000 De novo discovery 0 12-17-2011 07:31 AM
How big the sequence is allowed? ardmore Bioinformatics 2 11-10-2011 03:31 PM
Big Dye Terminator chainTerminator SOLiD 3 07-31-2010 11:27 AM
is my reference too big for maq? luisczul Bioinformatics 5 07-21-2009 08:23 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2011, 11:50 AM   #1
azroger
Junior Member
 
Location: Tucson, AZ

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Cool Big Genomes and Velvet

I was asked to get an estimate of how much memory it realistically takes to run Velvet to assemble a large genome, e.g. human genome size. If anybody had some idea or experience it would be a help. Even if you have experience with Velvet and a genome in the 100's of mb range, it could be helpful. I would guess roughly 20X coverage may be a reasonable size to consider, but it could take more to really assemble a genome successfully from small reads.
azroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:19 PM   #2
spenthil
Member
 
Location: San Francisco

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 44
Default

This has been addressed a few times before:
http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2101
http://www.google.com/search?sourcei...b7e57d321f7805
__________________
--
Senthil Palanisami
spenthil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 12:25 AM   #3
Thorondor
Member
 
Location: Heidelberg

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 69
Default

spenthil ist right, check first if there is already some information that helps you.

And there is an velvet mailing list, http://listserver.ebi.ac.uk/mailman/...o/velvet-users where zerbino is also very active.

The RAM you need depends a lot on the kmer (hash) you choose. Normally the higher your coverage and your minimum read length the higher kmer (hash) you can choose and therefore less RAM you will need. For a human genome depending on the quality of your reads you will still need around 64 - 128GB RAM.
Thorondor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 08:31 AM   #4
azroger
Junior Member
 
Location: Tucson, AZ

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks very much for the help. I did check for previous answers, but I didn't find these. I'm pretty new at using SeqAnswers. I think your answers pretty well cover my question.
azroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
human genome, memory requirement, velvet

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO