Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How does BWA deal with reads that are shorter than expected?

Hello all,

I am very new to bioinformatics so this might just be a stupid question....

I am using BWA and Samtools to map my sequence reads on a reference mitogenome, but the number of reads that can be mapped is very low - only about 100 reads. I suspect that BWA is only mapping the "complete" reads, so the reads that are 100bp (we did PE reads of 100bp on an Illumina HiSeq).

However, since we are working with highly degraded samples, we expect most of the fragments to be not longer than ~70bp. So if shorter reads are automatically kicked out, I am loosing >90% of my reads.

Does anyone know if it is the BWA script that kicks "shorter-than-expected" reads? Or how I can get to the shorter reads? Any help, suggestions, thoughts, comments, ect, are highly appreciated!

Cheers,
    Johanna

Can you show us your bwa commands ?
    Did you index the "mitogenome" using the same BWA version that you aligned with? Mixing version <6 with >= 6 is wrong.

How many input reads?

Do the input reads look good ? Try hand BLATing a few hundred random reads using command line blat against your custom mitogenome? Not getting any really good hits ?

Try these commands to do a little QA ...

wc input.fastq # divide by 4 for number of reads

grep "NNNNNNN" input.fq | wc
    # check for "NNNNN" (bad) reads; you might get a few near start/end

Comment

Originally posted by Jlap View Post
      (we did PE reads of 100bp on an Illumina HiSeq).

However, since we are working with highly degraded samples, we expect most of the fragments to be not longer than ~70bp.