Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SAV % base question

I am new to looking at SAV. Would someone please explain to me why my % base would look like this. Thanks.
    Attached Files

Can you give more information about the library? I'm not sure, but it looks like a bar code, CCGGTTCA.

Comment

The library has a standard Illumina adapter on it. I am not sure why there is the change at around 60 bases either.

Comment

Have you measured the insert size? They could be short. That wouldn't explain everything, but it might explain the change at around 60.

Comment

Here is what the library looks like. It was made using a protocol based on Khil et al Genome Res. 2012. 22: 957-965.

The abstract says: Meiotic DNA double-stranded breaks (DSBs) initiate genetic recombination in discrete areas of the genome called recombination hotspots. DSBs can be directly mapped using chromatin immunoprecipitation followed by sequencing (ChIP-seq). Nevertheless, the genome-wide mapping of recombination hotspots in mammals is still a challenge due to the low frequency of recombination, high heterogeneity of the germ cell population, and the relatively low efficiency of ChIP. To overcome these limitations we have developed a novel method—single-stranded DNA (ssDNA) sequencing (SSDS)—that specifically detects protein-bound single-stranded DNA at DSB ends. SSDS comprises a computational framework for the specific detection of ssDNA-derived reads in a sequencing library and a new library preparation procedure for the enrichment of fragments originating from ssDNA. The use of our technique reduces the nonspecific double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) background >10-fold. Our method can be extended to other systems where the identification of ssDNA or DSBs is desired.
          Attached Files

Comment

Originally posted by sophie mcquade View Post
            I am new to looking at SAV. Would someone please explain to me why my % base would look like this. Thanks.