SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
split fastq file Balat Bioinformatics 10 09-22-2016 07:55 AM
Split Large FASTQ file in small FASTQ files with user defined number of reads Windows deepbiomed Bioinformatics 3 04-04-2013 07:14 AM
Split fastq into smaller files lorendarith Bioinformatics 10 12-13-2012 04:28 AM
split a fastq file lfaino Bioinformatics 4 04-14-2011 03:28 PM
Split GA FASTQ file aritakum Bioinformatics 3 06-10-2010 04:15 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-24-2013, 12:56 AM   #1
peterrjp
Junior Member
 
Location: CIB. China

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default How to split fastq into small fastq based on barcode?

Dear All,
I have a big fastq file which include 34 samples. I want to split it into 34 small fastq files based on barcode sequences.
I tried to do it with the script "split_libraries_fastq" in Qiime. However, a barcode read fastq file should be used in this script. I don't know how to get this barcode read fastq file, so I can't use this script to solve the problem.
Is there any other method to solve the problem? Thank you!

Peter
peterrjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 11:13 AM   #2
wlchew
Junior Member
 
Location: MA

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Default

FastX-toolkit?
http://hannonlab.cshl.edu/fastx_toolkit/
wlchew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 04:54 AM   #3
Vinz
Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 80
Default

Is this MiSeq or HiSeq data?
Are you sure, the index was sequenced? If you do not specify it in the sample sheet, no index is sequenced. Then there is no way to determine the samples and split the fastq afterwards.
Open the fastq with an appropriate text viewer and see if barcode information is present in the header of each read.
Vinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 03:06 PM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,053
Default

Two things you need to clarify. Is the barcode "inline" (part of the sequence read) or was it sequenced separately (as in Illumina multiplexing)?

As Vinz said above if you are not sure then you can "cat" or "zcat" the sequence file (pipe through "more") and then post a few sequences here so someone can help.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 05:24 PM   #5
GW_OK
Senior Member
 
Location: Oklahoma

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
As Vinz said above if you are not sure then you can "cat" or "zcat" the sequence file (pipe through "more") and then post a few sequences here so someone can help.
Oh, man, use 'less' or 'zless' (press 'q' to return to command line). Way better than 'cat' piped through 'more'.
GW_OK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 06:06 PM   #6
acoada
Junior Member
 
Location: China

Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
Default

try perl.
you can store barcode list in a hash.
acoada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 06:25 PM   #7
peterrjp
Junior Member
 
Location: CIB. China

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Dear All,
Thank you for your replies! I have solve the problem with the FASTX-ToolKit software. Besides, I also found the way to get a barcode.fastq with the script split_libraries_fastq.py (http://qiime.org/tutorials/extractin...astq_data.html).

Peter
peterrjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fastq, qiime, split

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO