Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with alignment: I can only align 10% of reads(CLIP data, tophat/bowtie)

Dear all,

I'm new to CLIP analysis, so I want to go through the CLIP data processing pipeline to get the knowledge how to process it and maybe in the future improve part of the pipeline.
    I got the data from GEO:GSE41288. It's a HITS-CLIP dataset where the author want to revealing miR-155-dependent AGO protein binding sites. But when I tried to align the reads to the genome mm9, I found I can only map 10% of reads back to genome using bowite or tophat. The command I use is as followed.

tophat -p 8 --read-mismatches 5 --read-edit-dist 5 -o /output/MapResult/${name} /data/mm9/mm9 /data/miR155/FASTQ/${i}

bowtie -n 3 -e 150 -l 20 -p 8 /data/mm9/mm9 /data/miR155/FASTQ/${i} --un /output/BowtieResult_new/${name}/${name}.not_hit.fastq > /output/BowtieResult_new/${name}/${name}.hit.sam

I think I already set the threshold of mismatches quite high. Could someone give me some suggestions?

Thanks

Yue

I'm sorry, I found I should trim 6 nucleotides at 5 prime of the sequence.

Comment

Update:
      After adapt the parameter on the datasets webpage, still I could get about 10% reads mapped to the genome. Is it normal for CLIP data?

Comment

If this is a published data set have you tried to follow the method authors describe in their publication?

Comment

Originally posted by GenoMax View Post
          If this is a published data set have you tried to follow the method authors describe in their publication?
          Yes, I use the parameter they said. They just discard 6 nucletides length barcode at the 5 prime.

Comment

This is a perpetual bioinformatics data reproducibility issue (assuming the directions/settings are clear and you are exactly following them).