No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to add a suffix to fastq file

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to do some alignments, but my latest illumina data came with a rather strange suffix. The read identifiers looks like, so for the pairs:
    @HWI-ST201:195:BB0036ABXX:6:1101:1407:1941 1:N:0:
    @HWI-ST201:195:BB0036ABXX:6:1101:1407:1941 2:N:0:

This seems to be confusing a number of programs, does anyone know of good script to trim off that 1:N:0: and just add a more standard .1 or .F kind of thing?

Thanks

Your question made me finally write a blogpost about this: http://contig.wordpress.com/2011/09/...-fastq-header/. The awk command mentioned can be adjusted as needed. Also, check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fastq for a comparison of old- and new-style headers.

Comment

That looks great, thank you. I was all set to attempt to write my own script, but I'm very new to actually writing scripts, so I'm glad it didn't come to that.

Comment

Hi,

Is it possible to ADD a term to the illumina FASTQ file? Will that interfere with programs that map reads to a reference? Or will those programs generally ignore everything after the "#"?

Thanks,
        Andor

Comment

You can add whatever you want to the read name, but you can't add new lines or anything to the lines with bases or qualities.

Comment

Originally posted by cement_head View Post
            Is it possible to ADD a term to the illumina FASTQ file? Will that interfere with programs that map reads to a reference? Or will those programs generally ignore everything after the "#"?
            As Brian Bushell said, the fastq header line is free text. Quoting from Cock et al 2010:

‘@’ title line which often holds just a record identifier. This is a free format field with no length limit—allowing arbitrary annotation or comments to be included...