No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Convert .fna file from NCBI to .fa or .fasta file

Hello,
    I am totally new to this (I am a student following a course in bio-informatics) and I wanted to use a genome found on NCBI (in .fna or genbank format with .gff annotation) as a reference genome in STAR as an exercise but I cannot find a way to convert the .fna file so the genome can be read by STAR in --genomeFastaFiles. It is a genome not found on normal genome database sites (UCSC e.g.) since it is from a copepod and not much genomic work is done on copepods...
    Is this even possible to use such a genome as a reference genome or is this a bad idea from the start?
    Thank you in advance,
    kind regards,
    Josefien

As far as I know, .fna just means fasta nucleic acid (as opposed to .faa, fasta amino acid, for protein sequences), so the file is actually in fasta format.

Comment

The problem is; STAR is not recognizing this fasta format (.fna), I am getting an error that is impossible to read this fasta file, that why I wondered if it was not possible to convert from .fna to .fa. Or do you think it is a problem with the file itself and STAR is able to read/load .fna files?

Comment

Just rename the .fna extension to .fa (as long as the file is in fasta format). That should work.

Code:
        $ cp file.fna file.fa
        If you are not sure about the format of the file post the output of this command
        Code:
        $ head -10 file.fna

Comment

Originally posted by GenoMax View Post
          Just rename the .fna extension to .fa (as long as the file is in fasta format). That should work.

Code:
          $ cp file.fna file.fa
          If you are not sure about the format of the file post the output of this command
          Code:
          $ head -10 file.fna
          thank you very much it is working now !

Comment