SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove reads contaminants? Guigra Bioinformatics 7 07-03-2013 08:04 AM
Any way to remove background reads? metheuse Bioinformatics 3 03-16-2013 10:53 AM
remove illumina low quality reads StephaniePi83 Bioinformatics 1 04-12-2012 03:12 AM
Low coverage sequencing, which strategy? Ole De novo discovery 3 02-29-2012 09:21 AM
low 454 coverage combined with high solexa coverage strob Bioinformatics 7 10-07-2010 10:14 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2015, 06:14 AM   #21
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,077
Default

What size is your input file? Is the bbnorm process actively running (check using "top")?
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 06:27 AM   #22
horvathdp
Member
 
Location: Fargo

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 66
Default

I just ran top to see if it was still thinking, and it flashes between 0% memory to 97% use for java, so I am guessing it is still crunching output. The file size is about 68G, but I only have 12Gb RAM on my machine. The developer gave me a few tricks to allow it to run with minimal memory, so I will just be patient.
horvathdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 06:31 AM   #23
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,077
Default

Hopefully you have an adequate amount of swap space configured. With 12G of RAM swap must be in use. If it has become full (check to see if any partitions are at 100% though swap may be configured differently on your server) that may not be good.

Last edited by GenoMax; 02-10-2015 at 06:33 AM.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 07:10 AM   #24
horvathdp
Member
 
Location: Fargo

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 66
Default

Not sure if I have what i need or not. Looking at Top output, I have 12g in KiB Mem, 11.9G used, 34M free, 7M buffer, KiB swap 52M total, 28M used 23M free, and 21M cached.
horvathdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:37 AM   #25
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,077
Default

That is a relatively small amount of swap for a machine with 12G of RAM. Let us see what Brian makes of that error message.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 09:15 AM   #26
Brian Bushnell
Super Moderator
 
Location: Walnut Creek, CA

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,707
Default

BBNorm is pretty fast; I've never seen an input that made it take more than a few hours. If it throws an exception, that's fatal, so kill it.

The specific exception, though, is rather strange. It seems like for some reason it was unable to write a file - like, perhaps, the disk was full, or the path was invalid, or you did not have write permission, or something. Perhaps you could post the entire error message? And also, the output you get when you run "java -version", and the exact command line...
Brian Bushnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO