No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parsing multi fasta sequence file using Perl

Hello,
    I am very new to Perl scripting and scripting in general. I am trying to extract information from a multi fasta file to an output file. I have constructed a script but it isn't giving me the output that I want.

For example (this would the current fasta file)
    >gi|546265522| SOX6
    acgtcaatccag
    cgattagcaaat
    gtcctgattttgg

>gi|678457845| CMYC
    gttaccatgcgatg
    caatttgggacacc

I want (notice the ">" is removed:
    gi|546265522| SOX6
    Seq length: 36
    gi|678457845| CMYC
    Seq length: 28

I was able to put the lines of the sequences into one string but calculating the length isn't working. I removed any spaces within the new single string and attempted $length = length($line); but that doesn't work. The current method in my script also gives the same output like:::
    >gi|546265522| SOX6

>gi|678457845| CMYC

How do I solve this problem??
    Ultimately i want some like this but I am taking it in steps so that I actually understand what I'm doing and why.
    gi|678457845| CMYC (tab) seq length (tab) AT/GC content

Here is my script

#!/usr/bin/perl -w

print "file: \n";
    $in = <STDIN>;
    chomp $in;

print "output file: \n";
    $out = <STDIN>;
    chop $out;

unless ( open(IN, $in) ) {
    die ("cant input file $in\n");}

unless ( open(OUT, ">$out") ) {
    die("cant open output file $out\n");}

my $line = <IN>;
    print OUT $line;

while ($line = <IN>)
    {
    chomp $line;
    if ($line=~/^>(.+)/) {
    print OUT "\n",$line,"\n"; }
    else { $line =~ s/^\s*(.*)\s*$/$1/;

$a=($line=~tr/aA//);
    $c=($line=~tr/cC//);
    $g=($line=~tr/gG//);
    $t=($line=~tr/tT//);
    $n=($line=~tr/nN//);
    $x=($line=~tr/xX//);

$length = $a + $c + $g + $t + $n + $x;
    print OUT $length; }
    }

print OUT "\n";

Try using

use strict;
    use warnings;