No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ChIP-seq: distance to TSS

Hi everyone,

First I have to apologize for a probably stupid question, but I'm an absolute beginner in ChIP-seq data analysis. I tried to generate a graph showing the distance to TSS of my reads. I used the ENSEMBL TSS for this analysis. But now I'm not sure if I should use all the different transcripts (and hence TSS) for each gene or how do I pick the "most expressed" or "most likely" transcript?
    What is the right way to do it, or is there a way to only get the TSS of expressed/functional/main transcripts?

Thanks,
    Jeannine

you simply need a list of expressed genes of your model system determined using RNASeq or expression microarray (look in the databases) and filter your TSS list.

Comment

I assume you are referring to the TSS profile plots as used e.g. in Fig. 2 of Barksi et al. (2007).

To get these, one usually takes a list of all TSSs and the find the reads close to the TSSs. Conceptually, you cut out the the coverage curves of your ChIP-Seq data in windows around all the TSSs, stack them on top of each other and add them up. See this thread for some options on how to do this.

If you take all TSSs, your profile will put most weight on those TSSs which have many ChIP-Seq reads closeby. If you want to get a more detailed loo, you typically stratify the TSSs, e.g., by expression strength (which you get from RNA-Seq or microarray assays) or any other feature you hypothetize to influence your binding.

Comment

I think Jeannine wants a plot showing the distance of each peak to the closest (annotated) TSS - ie. a histogram.

For this she has been using the Ensembl gene starts, but is wondering whether to use the Ensembl transcript starts instead.

Personally, I've come around to using the transcript starts - there are many instances where the ensembl genes are extended upstream from the refseq annotation and the 'internal' TSS is just as (or even more) sensible.