No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sonication?

Hi guys!
    I am new to the ChIP-seq technique, and this forum.I have a basic question about chromatin size. I have done a chromatin IP several times and have been successful in getting a shear size between 100-500bp using sonication. But I have heard that one has to achieve a much tighter distribution (+/- 50 bp) for a ChIP-seq! Is it true? How does one get that? Do you prefer MNase digestion, or is it OK if I just gel purify the band/area of interest?
    Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks
    -Jazz

Yes, the tighter distribution is selected by gel purifiction.

Comment

Hi,Chipper! Thank you for your suggestion!
      I just met the same problem in Chip-seq and even worse. I only got 500-1000bp by sonication.
      Could you please tell us more details? Can we excise the bands and extract with the Qiagen gel extraction kit?
      Thanks a lot!

Comment

We have been successfully using the protocol outlined by Illumina for size selection of ~200bp fragments. http://www.rockefeller.edu/genomics/...ample_Prep.pdf
        Good Luck

Comment

fang,
          what conditions / sonicator are you using? Perhaps you need to titrate the sonication conditions (number of cycles, cell concentrations etc).

Comment

Thank you Sem!
            I have down loaded the protocol from illumina.
            but my question is the chromatin DNA fragments used for ChIP cann't be sheared smaller by sonication. So I consider to excise the chromatin DNA by gel extraction.Do you think it is feasible? Thanks!

Comment

Chipper,
              I use Misonix ultrasonic processor, XL2020.My condition is work on 15'', work off 20'', cycles from 15,20,25 to 30. I use embryonic stem cells for 1.5*107 in 300ul lysis buffer. I always get smear focusing in 500-1000bp, no smaller. If I add the power, it is in emulsification and I'm afraid that the protein and DNA may be denatured.