SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Differences between bioanalyzer results and chip-seq results. tamars Bioinformatics 5 04-03-2016 03:41 PM
Odd bioanalyzer results beetle_doc Illumina/Solexa 2 08-25-2015 06:28 AM
mRNA traces on Bioanalyzer Francy87 Sample Prep / Library Generation 5 09-09-2014 03:47 PM
Weird bioanalyzer results exo Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 03-27-2014 02:15 PM
Large MW seen in mRNA bioanalyzer trace ts1127 Sample Prep / Library Generation 1 07-03-2013 06:25 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2016, 06:34 PM   #1
sbchua.1990
Junior Member
 
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Default Problematic bioanalyzer results (QC after mRNA capture)

Did mRNA capture (Dynabead) for my RNA extract samples (mushroom). When run mRNA pico assay for QC, these kind of result appeared. Sometime it work for some of the samples. But repeated assay using same sample seem to produce different result. Contacted field application specialist and made the listed changes but problem persists.

Changes made:

1. washed electrode with RNAzap and consequently with RNase free water and air dried for more than 10 minutes. Even diagnosed for short circuit before run.

2. check priming station for failure. It seem to be working because it bounce normally when the latch was released

3. my sample were treated with DNase from MoBio.

4. diluted my samples.

Attached here are pdf. containing results for last few run.

2100 expert_mRNA Pico_DE13805702_2016-06-27_18-03-51.pdf

2100 expert_mRNA Pico_DE13805702_2016-06-14_17-28-00.pdf

2100 expert_mRNA Pico_DE13805702_2016-06-27_16-40-47.pdf
sbchua.1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 03:48 PM   #2
[email protected]
Registered Vendor
 
Location: SF Bay Area

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Hi sbchua.1990,
We have seen traces such as these when the chip priming/loading was not performed correctly. Did you ensure that the chip priming station plunger was set to the highest notch and the plunger was released after exactly 30 seconds? Was the chip loaded with fresh reagents?

A couple of other possibilities include overloading of the chip and salt or detergent carryover. You noted that you already tried diluting the samples; how much material was used? We typically load 1-5 ng/well onto the Pico chip.

Finally, have you tried an additional clean-up of your samples?

Hope that helps!
__________________
Denise Stephens
Technical Support Scientist at NuGEN Technologies
DStephens@NuGEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 07:16 PM   #3
sbchua.1990
Junior Member
 
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for reply, I am pretty sure that the chip priming/loading was performed correctly. Reagents are still within expiration date.

My samples concentration should be around 300pg - 1500pg. I just loaded 1 ul without dilution.

No I did not try additional clean-up for my samples.
sbchua.1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 03:20 PM   #4
nucacidhunter
Senior Member
 
Location: Iran

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,060
Default

The samples most likely are contaminated with residual removal resin. You would need to contact MoBio for cleanup instructions.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 03:37 PM   #5
sbchua.1990
Junior Member
 
Location: Kuala Lumpur

Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Default

Hi nucacidhunter, did you encounter such problem in the past? Or what make you think so? Thanks for your reply.
sbchua.1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 06:17 PM   #6
nucacidhunter
Senior Member
 
Location: Iran

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,060
Default

Profile indicates presence of insoluble contaminants which could be protein (residual DNase) or removal resin. I suspect the resin because it can be carried over easily if spinning was not long enough or one tried to take the supernatant without leaving any liquid behind in the tube. There is also possibility of protein protectant carry over which is used to stabilise DNase at RT.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bioanalyzer, mrna, rnaseq

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO