SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR: [bcf_sync] incorrect number of fields.. vinodhsri Bioinformatics 21 08-11-2017 01:42 PM
Wrong number of mapped reads in TopHat2 output Mchicken Bioinformatics 0 04-28-2015 01:36 AM
Wrong exon number information from tophat-fusion angerusso RNA Sequencing 0 02-07-2014 10:46 AM
BEAGLE errors: Allele not in marker file / Number of fields in .gprobs isn't %3 LankyCyril Bioinformatics 0 11-20-2013 06:44 AM
Bowtie optional fields in SAM question history_of_robots Bioinformatics 1 11-28-2011 07:56 AM

Old 01-09-2017, 08:55 AM   #1
schumric

Default Question: bcftools: Wrong number of PL fields? nals=4 npl=6

Hello all,

I am new to bcftools and samtools, so forgive my question if it is ignorant. My goal is to extract consensus sequences between two different species.

I was given paired-end Illumina sequencing data. So far, I used FastQC to trim and bowtie 2 to perform the mapping and used samtools to generate sorted bam files. We created two bam files by using single-ended bowtie 2 mapping - this was due to a large amounts of insertion-deletion polymorphisms between the two species.

I tried the following to variant call:

/home/sean/Desktop/assembly_software/samtools-1.3.1/samtools mpileup -d8000 -uf Mlongifolia_CMEN585_assembly_v1.0.fasta CMEN585.R_1.sorted.bam CMEN585.R_2.sorted.bam | bcftools call -c | vcfutils.pl vcf2fq > cnsnew.fq

error: Wrong number of PL fields? nals=4 npl=6

Then I tried using just a single bam file:

/home/sean/Desktop/assembly_software/samtools-1.3.1/samtools mpileup -d8000 -uf Mlongifolia_CMEN585_assembly_v1.0.fasta CMEN585.R_1.sorted.bam | bcftools call -c | vcfutils.pl vcf2fq > cnsnew.fq

error: Wrong number of PL fields? nals=4 npl=3

What do these errors mean and how do I fix them? I have searched around, but have been unable to turn up anything so far.