SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master in Integrated Systems Biology / Bioinformatics bioinfolux Bioinformatics 0 07-25-2017 07:54 AM
ChIP-Seq high degree duplication levels fh331 Bioinformatics 1 09-07-2016 03:36 PM
request for advice - graduated in Biology-Geology, master in Bioinformatics Chuckytah General 3 06-01-2012 06:16 PM

Old 10-16-2017, 09:41 AM   #1
gpalou4

Default Which master's degree in Bioinformatics? Help me

Hello bioinformaticians,

I'm a 4th year student in Genetics degree, in Barcelona (Spain), and next year I want to start a Master in Bioinformatics. I'm hesitating a lot between doing the master here in Barcelona or maybe in another country in Europe. I've been looking at some Masters in Bioinformatics in good universities like ETH Zurich, University of Edinburgh, University of Manchester, Imperial College London, and so on... But I don't know if I will be able to be accepted there.
Regarding my situation my questions are:

-Which are the best masters in Bioinformatics in Europe?
-Is it really worth to go to these renowned universities, or is it better to stay?

Thanks a lot,
Guillermo
gpalou4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 09:48 AM   #2
GenoMax

I don't know about Europe specifically but the actual university may matter, only if you are planning to stay in academics long-term.

Long as you have demonstrable bioinformatics skills it may not strictly matter what university your degree is from when you go looking for a job.

Hopefully someone from Europe will offer a first-hand perspective.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 09:52 AM   #3
gpalou4

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenoMax View Post
I don't know about Europe specifically but the actual university may matter, only if you are planning to stay in academics long-term.