No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for Known Gene Mutation in ELAND export file

Hello All,

I am working on NGS data analysis and I am relatively new in the field as compared to others present here.

I have a question regarding ELAND export file (the file on further processing gives me RPKM values for each gene in the cell, for which RNA seq was performed), I want to know wheather a gene X in the cell for which RNA seq was performed has a mutation or not (this mutation is known, say D314K, where D and K are amino acids).
    Please give a detailed answer with steps. I am very confused as to how I can get this information from my RNA seq data.

Thank you,
    Last edited by Abhishek; 03-24-2012, 01:33 AM.

What does an Eland export file look like? Can you cut and paste a sample?

Comment

This is the format of file:

The number of fields per line remains a constant 22, any not relevant to a particular read are left blank (the empty string ""). In particular, for a single-read analysis the Read Number, Paired Read Alignment Score and Partner Chromosome/Contig/Offset/Strand fields will all be blank

1. Machine (as parsed from run folder name.
      2.Run Number (as parsed from run folder name).
      3. Lane.
      4. Tile.
      5. X Coordinate of cluster.
      6. Y Coordinate of cluster.
      7. Index String (blank for a non-indexed run).
      8. Read Number ("1" or "2" for paired read, blank for a single read).
      9. Read.
      10. Quality String - in symbolic ASCII format (ASCII chracter code = quality value + 64) by default, set QUALITY_FORMAT --numeric in the GERALD config file to get numeric values instead.
      11. Match Chromosome - name of chromosome match was to OR code indicating why no match was done.
      12. Match Contig (blank if no match found) - gives contig name if there is a match and the match chromosome is split into contigs.