SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comprehensiveness of sequence coverage in miRNA-, ChIP-, RNA-seq? Stefan-w Bioinformatics 2 02-02-2012 12:07 AM
miRNA-Seq with samples that have different % miRNA to Total RNA... DrDTonge Bioinformatics 0 01-12-2012 11:20 PM
Bowtie parameters khb Bioinformatics 11 12-16-2010 09:08 PM
agilent small RNA chip says I have 55% miRNA!!?? bisrat RNA Sequencing 0 08-23-2010 08:11 AM
Recommended Bowtie Parameters agc SOLiD 0 05-10-2010 03:44 AM

Old 08-12-2010, 07:45 AM   #1
dukevn

Default BWA, BOWTIE: what parameters for different analysis (ChIP, RNA, miRNA etc)

Hi all,

I am still learning towards next generation sequencing and still do not have much experience on the field, so hopefully people are willing to share their experience. I wonder what parameters do people use (with BWA and/or BOWTIE) for different analysis such as ChIP-SEQ, RNA-SEQ, miRNA-SEQ etc... I read somewhere that mapping of data from RNA samples (RNAseq) presents different genome mapping challenges than those from DNA, that means there should be different parameters / options for different mapping analysis. Anybody has any advice?

Thanks,

D.
dukevn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:40 AM   #2
mrawlins

Location: Retirement - Not working with bioinformatics anymore.

I asked a similar question (limited to RNA-Seq) on the Q/A site. The link to that and the answers is

http://i.seqanswers.com/question/198...iebwa-on-solid
I found that using Bowtie for RNA-Seq we benefited from a larger error tolerance in the tail (-e 980) than we would have wanted for DNA. Mostly that's because we weren't particularly interested in SNP calling in those samples.
mrawlins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 09:57 AM   #3
dukevn

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrawlins View Post