No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• subread

Hello

Has anyone of you allready tried subread ("subread: a superfast read aligner": http://sourceforge.net/projects/subread/)?
    I'm very new to RNA-Seq. I'm examining Illumina HiSeq data for different tissues of the human body. At first I used bowtie2 (beta3, without splicing library) and it mapped about 85% of the reads to the hg19 genome (which is quite good I think?!) using the standard parameters for bowtie2 end-to-end alignment.
    After that I tried out subread with standard settings. Subread should be able to detect splicing events. It actually mapped 95 to 98% of my reads to hg19 in the same time as bowtie2 did!
    I'm asking if anybody is experienced with subread and could say something about the quality of the program/mapping process and traps or drawbacks of it? I'm wondering why it is not mentioned anywhere although it seems to be very fast and powerful?
    Thank you.
    Last edited by hanshart; 12-04-2011, 03:18 PM.

Dear Hanshart,

Yes, subread can map junction reads. However it does this not by looking for the junction locations, but by using part of the read sequence to find the mapping location for the read. Therefore, the mapping location returned by subread for a junction is on one of the exons which are spliced with other exons (usually the one which has the largest segment in the read).

However, the subjunc program included in the subread package can find the precise junction location in the read and return a CIGAR string which gives the length of introns.

If you are using the latest version of Subread (1.1.0), you should be able to find a User Manual in the package which will give you a brief introduction to the algorithm used by subread.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,
    Wei

Comment

For subjunc analysis I'm a bit confused by the following parameters:

-d --mindist <int> the minimum distance between two reads in a pair, 50 by default