Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• haploid variant calling in SAMtools

We’re using the standard SAMtools SNP calling protocol (samtools mpileup -uf ref.fa aln1.bam aln2.bam | bcftools view -bvcg - > var.raw.bcf) to look for sequence variants in bacterial genomes.

I’m really new to this, but it sounds like the protocol is geared towards diploid organisms by default. I hoping someone might know if there’s anything that should be changed to use it on haploid genomes? The –s or –p options in SAMtools mpileup look like they might be useful, but I’ve no feel for how to apply them correctly for this. Any help would be really appreciated!

I use samtools on bacteria all the time, and it's not really a problem. Remember that just because your organism is haploid doesn't mean that you have been giving a clonal culture to analyze.

Comment

We found that the following workflow works well for variant calling in haploids using samtools. To generate a consensus sequence from the realigned BAM file in FASTQ format, we used:

samtools mpileup -uf ref.fasta realigned.bam | bcftools view -cg -s sample.txt - | perl vcfutils.pl vcf2fq > consensus.fq

where sample.txt is a plain text file with the sample name in the first column and the ploidy level in the second column. For example,

sample_name 1

The columns should be tab-delimited.

Comment

Keep in mind that vcfutils vcf2fq will not handle indels. It just creates a small window of lowercase letters around the putative indel.

Comment

Why not use freebayes? It's designed to support haploids and polyploids (use the --ploidy option).

Comment

Also, you can use vcfgeno2haplo (https://github.com/ekg/vcflib/blob/m...geno2haplo.cpp) with an arbitrarily large window size to generate a consensus fasta sequence from the output.

If you input a file with one sample, the recorded consensus sequence will be the ALT in the single VCF record in the output.