SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tophat: segment-based junction search failed with err =-11 jdanderson Bioinformatics 15 10-14-2017 07:47 AM
Tophat error -segment-based junction search failled with err=1 upadhyayanm Bioinformatics 24 06-21-2016 07:20 PM
Tophat Error: Error: segment-based junction search failed with err =-6 sjnewhouse RNA Sequencing 8 03-19-2013 05:14 AM
yet another "Error: segment-based junction search failed with err = -9" liux Bioinformatics 1 08-24-2010 10:48 AM
Error: segment-based junction search failed with err = -9 Albert Cheng Bioinformatics 1 08-19-2010 09:24 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2010, 06:14 AM   #1
Wei-HD
Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 59
Default segment-based junction search failed

Hi All,

I met a problem when I run the tophat, there was an error: segment-based junction search failed with err = 1. Therefore, there is no juction.bed file and wig file. Can someone give me some hints what mistakes I have made?

Thanks!

[204:~/desktop/wei/data] alan% ls
Bic.txt control.txt.zip mm9.2.ebwt mm9.fa tophat_out
Bic.txt.zip make_mm9.sh mm9.3.ebwt mm9.rev.1.ebwt
control.txt mm9.1.ebwt mm9.4.ebwt mm9.rev.2.ebwt
[204:~/desktop/wei/data] alan% tophat --solexa1.3-quals mm9 Bic.txt
Fri Jan 29 10:16:29 2010] Beginning TopHat run (v1.0.11)
-----------------------------------------------
[Fri Jan 29 10:16:29 2010] Preparing output location ./tophat_out/
[Fri Jan 29 10:16:29 2010] Checking for Bowtie index files
[Fri Jan 29 10:16:29 2010] Checking for reference FASTA file
[Fri Jan 29 10:16:29 2010] Checking for Bowtie
Bowtie version: 0.12.1.0
[Fri Jan 29 10:16:29 2010] Checking reads

seed length: 76bp
format: fastq
quality scale: --solexa1.3-quals
[Fri Jan 29 10:27:01 2010] Mapping reads against mm9 with Bowtie
[Fri Jan 29 12:28:40 2010] Joining segment hits
Splitting reads into 3 segments
[Fri Jan 29 12:39:19 2010] Mapping reads against mm9 with Bowtie
[Fri Jan 29 14:01:04 2010] Mapping reads against mm9 with Bowtie
[Fri Jan 29 15:20:38 2010] Mapping reads against mm9 with Bowtie
[Fri Jan 29 16:42:19 2010] Searching for junctions via segment mapping
[FAILED]
Error: segment-based junction search failed with err = 1
[204:~/desktop/wei/data] alan%
Wei-HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 10:20 AM   #2
Wei-HD
Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 59
Default

Is that because Bowtie index's reference records have spaces in their names? I just checked the previous posts.
Wei-HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 04:16 PM   #3
Cole Trapnell
Senior Member
 
Location: Boston, MA

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 212
Default

It looks to me like there's some problem with the FASTQ file. Unless you ask TopHat to change the segment length to 76bp, it should default to 25bp here. TopHat has a bug currently that requires all of the sequence for each read to be on a single line (and same goes for the quality string). This will be fixed at some point, but I haven't had time recently to get to it.
Cole Trapnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 02:25 AM   #4
Wei-HD
Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 59
Default

Thank you very much, Cole!

I might know the problem of my index file. Since there is no fasta (fa.) file in the downloaded mouse index file, but Tophat will use bowtie to build this file and save it to the output directory. And this step will take some time to finish, but I moved this file out of the Tophat_output file when Tophat is still running at this step. Therefore, the unfinished fasta file is 0 Kb.
Wei-HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 12:19 AM   #5
DanWebster
Junior Member
 
Location: NCI/NIH

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Hello all,

I got the same error, but it occurred because I was also running another script (seqgene's snp function) that also drew on the hg18.fa file at the same time that I was running tophat.

Seems like it would be a rare thing, but just in case someone else had the same problem.

Followup: this also happened to me when I was running multiple tophat calls at once within the same linux instance. Though I can't know for sure that it was the same reason for failure, it seems like one tophat call "won" and got access to the file, and completed its run, while the other failed.

Last edited by DanWebster; 12-23-2010 at 09:46 AM. Reason: Follow-up
DanWebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 07:29 PM   #6
trickytank
Member
 
Location: Melbourne

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Or in my case, my fasta file was a soft link, but the link was broken.
trickytank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:58 AM   #7
paulorapazote
Member
 
Location: Scotland - TJHI

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Default Threads problem??

Hi

I had similar problem, but strangely (TopHat version 2.0.7) the error message only occurred when running the job in a node with 4 cores ( -p 4 --num-threads option), and never with 16 cores (-p 16). So, In my case I believe in related with the number of threads used to run TopHat.

I hope could help.

Cheers,

P
paulorapazote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO