No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trimming Illumina PE sequences with Trimmomatic

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to NGS work and would have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with.

I got strand-specific PE Illumina data (100bp). The company already did a clean up (adaptor filtering..). I checked my two files with fastqc and quality wise they look good (over Q30 on average), but have a slight drop at the 3' end to about Q28 and from the other graphs I had a bit more variation for the first 5-7 bases. I just did a test-run with PrinSeq and Trimmomatic using a few 100 sequences and Trimmomatic seems to give me the nicer output (PrinSeq adds the sequence identifier to the quality information - so 1 line. sequence identifier, 2 line. actual read, 3 line. + sequence identifier again, 4 line. quality information. Trimmomatic doesn't, it only has the + in line 3 which matches with the input file.) that Trinity might like better.

The two things I'm interested in doing is a headcrop of 7 nucleotides and I'd love to use trailing to cut for quality on the 3' end. Now according to the manual it seems to work with a quality score of 1, 2 or 3 (3 should be used) - what does that mean? I'd like to cut anything below Q30 on my 3' end. Some posts here related to other questions with Trimmomatic seem to suggest I can write 30 as well, is that true? Could I just say trailing:30 or does it have to be 3 (whatever that means)?

Strand-specificity doesn't really matter here, does it (my data is RF directionality)? Can I still write the /1 file as my first input file and the /2 as my second input file or would I have to change that?