Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sequence transposon flanking region

I am new to NGS first of all. I would like to sequence transposon flanking region, thus during PCR amplification step, instead of using primers supplied by Illumina TruSeq, I will use own customized primer (tailed with Illumina adapter sequence) which will bind specifically to the transposon end and start amplification. Lots of issue I need to settle for sample prep. But now my doubt is: during sequencing run, is it possible if we use own sequencing primer (in which I plan to design primer which binds to the transposon end region)? Say if I wanted to run on HiSeq2000. If I use standard sequencing primer, most of the first ~20bp of the reads will be the same (the transposon end) and how will this affect the coordination of clusters during first few cycles?

Sorry for the poor English used.

Low complexity sequence during the first four cycles will adversely affect cluster calling. Sequencing with a custom primer is fine, as long as the Tm is comparable to the standard sequencing primer.

Comment

Many thanks to the reply.

If paired end, will the cluster calling be repeated for read 2? Or once the first four cycles of read 1 have coordinated the clusters position, it doesn't matter if read 2 starts with low complexity sequence? For sure more than 10bp of the first read will be low complexity sequence (as mentioned the transposon end), I was thinking if I design the primer in a way the transposon end is actually located on read 2, will it still affecting the cluster coordination?

Custom sequencing primer can replace the original primer? I have been told that it comes in a master mix together with other reagents needed for sequencing run. Is it true?

Comment