Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wish to do differential analysis, complete newbie.

When it comes to finding/using established tools I am completely untrained.

We are starting with illumina paired-end reads (we don't necessarily care if the analysis is done with tools supporting paired-ends per se, the sequencing just happened to be done this way). The paired ends have already been separated by the sequencer pipeline.

In an earlier post I asked how one would trim for quality, and I found a few tools to do that.

Now I'm supposed to perform an alignment and use the alignment information to get expression profiles. (Eventually we would like to use these expression profiles to compare different samples.)

It seems like cufflinks should be able to do this sort of thing (I'm assuming it would be working in partnership with bowtie or tophat for this.). Are there any other pipelines and how would I best find the sequence of commands that would prepare the data and produce the mapping files that I need to run these analyses?

Hi Kotoro,

The online manuals of Tophat and Cufflinks should be sufficient for you to carry out the analysis pipeline.

Douglas

Comment

what produces the gtf file that cufflinks is looking for?

Comment

Hi Kotoro,

For the gtf file, one potential solution is to use the Table Browser from the UCSC genomes website

If you're working with human or mouse samples, you can choose the mRNA track in the "groups" selection, then mouse mRNAs in the "track" selection and refGene as the "table"

Then, in the output format field, you'd be able to choose GTF which should get you going.

For expression analysis, the best workflow would be to use TopHat followed by Cufflinks, you cannot use Bowtie -> Cufflinks, as Bowtie would not match reads to splice junctions.

Vineeth

Comment