No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sequencing beginner looking for review articles

Hi there,
    I am new to sequencing. I have absolutely no idea what I get from the sequencing and how I proceed further. I know it sounds crazy. I am very interested in sequencing and bioinformatics and that's the reason for me moving to this field from conventional methods.
    Is there any paper or website that talks in detail what it is and what are the steps one should follow once u get the sequence back and also the analysis part. I am working on SOLiD platform, doing exome sequencing.

I really appreciate it if you all can help me find a source to get started such as a paper or book or website.

Info I am looking at it is the steps in the process...such as get the data and then check the quality, align and find mutations and son on....

Thanks,
    John.

Any productive suggestion will be appreciated...

Comment

Here may be a decent paper:
      Demand has never been greater for revolutionary technologies that deliver fast, inexpensive and accurate genome information. This challenge has catalysed the development of next-generation sequencing (NGS) technologies. The inexpensive production of large volumes of sequence data is the primary adva …

Comment

Dp0 5yk,
        Thanks for the link , but that paper talks about the platforms and nothing about data analysis...anything for data analysis?
        Thanks.

Comment

http://www.broadinstitute.org/gsa/wi....php/Main_Page

That's the GATK suite website, it's pretty in depth and you can get some sense of what analysis needs to be done even if you don't use those programs.

Comment

GW_OK,Thanks a lot. That was helpful. I will get back to you if I need more help.

Comment