SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer requirements to do Bioinformatic analysis Giorgio C Bioinformatics 8 01-03-2012 07:10 AM
Minimum hardware requirements for TopHat Hunny Bioinformatics 0 04-28-2011 09:33 PM
Computer Hardware: CPU vs. Memory DZhang Bioinformatics 16 09-22-2010 04:52 AM
hardware requirements to run blastX litali Bioinformatics 6 09-21-2010 01:55 AM
workstation hardware Berlinq Bioinformatics 7 12-10-2009 01:18 AM

Old 09-11-2009, 02:23 AM   #1
Najim

Default Computer hardware requirements

Hello everybody,

I am new to the next generation sequencing thechnology, and guess that I will be harassing you for a while.
Let me start off with my first question. As I need to buy a new computer soon, withwhich I'll be performing the analysis of the tremendous sequencing data, I was wondering about the minimal requirements of the computer hardware.
Hope to read from you soon.
Greetings,
Najim
Najim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 04:00 AM   #2
maubp
Peter (Biopython etc)

What organisms are you working on? Small genomes like viruses, modest things like bacteria, or complex genomes like eukaryotes? This has an enormous impact on the amount of data and the amount of memory you'll need.
maubp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 04:54 AM   #3
Najim

Quote:
Originally Posted by maubp View Post
What organisms are you working on? Small genomes like viruses, modest things like bacteria, or complex genomes like eukaryotes? This has an enormous impact on the amount of data and the amount of memory you'll need.
I'll be working on the human genome. I want to investigate the possible implementation of NGS for molecular diagnostics of genetic disorders involving large genes and/or multiple genes.
Old 10-28-2009, 02:55 PM   #4
captainentropy