Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laboratory people vs Computer people

Hi people, I do not want to be polemic. I am a newcomer in bioinformatics and just want you to tell me in an open and frank way how are relationships between lab people and computer people in your organizations. I mean:

Bioinformatic activities are usually performed by lab people (biologist, biochemist, doctors) that have a certain computer knowledge, or computer people that provide that service to lab people?

Many bioinformatics tools run in Linux. My experience shows me that non data-process people are much reticent to abandon Windows and learn to use Linux. Have you solved this problem? How?

Waiting for your feed-back. I hope you find interesting this debate. Thanks a lot!

In my organization, many biologists were not that happy with pure (bio)informaticians, because they did not understand each others. When I arrived (I have a PhD and 6years post-doc as wet-biologists, in parallel of bioinformatics since my PhD), they were quite happy.
    Actually, I first had to finish some projects (considered as done by the previous bioinformaticians) and it's true that some reports were quite difficult to understand, or even worse, some analyses did not take into consideration the biology behind the data!!!

My feeling is that it requires an effort (which should be from both sides) to make successful interactions...

Comment

Hi Sylvaint, I assume that in your case bioinformaticians are like computer consultants. Am I wrong?

Comment

As HT sequencing becomes more commoditized there will be commercial and freeware tools that will become more user accessible/GUI friendly e.g. look at the history of microarrays and the associated analytical tools. So for people who don't want to let go of windows there will always be options, albeit limited by what is included in the available programs.